Hatha & Ashtanga Yoga

The word Hatha is a compound of the words Ha and Tha meaning sun and moon. However, when the two components of the word are placed together, “hatha” means “forceful”, implying that powerful work must be done to purify the body. Yoga means to join two things together, hence hatha yoga is meant to join together sun (masculine, active) energy with the moon (feminine, receptive) energy, thus producing balance and greater power in an individual. Stretching and flexing the body in many postures developing breath awareness and working through traditional hatha practices to calm the mind and breath through Asana, Pranayama and Meditation. Changing your way of life forever.

Ashtanga Yoga – is the yoga of Patanjali, the compiler of the Yoga Sutras. It is composed of eight limbs: Yama and Niyama, which are ethical observations; Asana; Pranayama which is breath control; Pratyahara; which is sense withdrawal; Dharana, which is concentration; Dhyana, which is meditation; and Samadhi, which is a high state of concentration, mastery of the mind. The eight limbs are more precisely viewed as eight levels of progress, the foundation for the higher levels of Vinyasa Yoga, or dynamic connecting posture, that creates a flow between the more static traditional yoga postures using the breath. Essentially the breath dictates the movement and the length of time held in the postures. Unlike some Hatha yoga styles, attention is also placed on the journey between the postures not just the postures themselves. The viṅyāsa ‘flow’ is a variant of Surya namaskara, the Sun Salutation.

Click here to download and print a leaflet if you would like more information.

Contact info

Mind Body and Spirit Barnsley Ltd  
The Studio
Shaw Lane
S70 6HZ
Studio: 00 44 7769 996438
Office: 00 44 7789 037427
Email: info@mind-bodyandspirit.com